Presentation

  • Help
  • Find
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
Pau public law (PDP)
Traductions :
  • Voir la page en français
PDF
You are here:

Pau Droit Public (PDP) (Pau public law)Presentation

On January 1, 2011, the CECL (research center for local authorities) was replaced by the PDP (Pau public law) research center.

The former was created in the early 1980s under the dual responsibility of professors Franck Moderne and Jean-Claude Douence. Its original aim was to monitor trends in local authority law, and it gradually became a renowned expert in this field – ranking among the best French university research laboratories in 2008 – and in this respect was awarded the medal of honor of the city of Pau.

The center conducted collaborative work concerning the former Annuaire des collectivités locales (Directory of local authorities) that became Droit et gestion des collectivités territoriales (Rights and management of local authorities) (published by the Editions Le Moniteur) of the research group on local administration in Europe (GRALE-CNRS) of which it became member in 1984, and took part in the annotation of the successive editions of the General code of local authorities since its creation (Dalloz, 18th edition, 2014). It also contributed to the Encyclopédie Dalloz des collectivités locales (Dalloz encyclopedia of local authorities) (under the scientific direction of Jean-Claude Douence), to the GRALE-CNRS research program on the implementation of Act II of the decentralization law, and to the transfer of competencies to local authorities. In addition, several researchers are tasked with writing and updating the Guide des marchés publics (Public market guide) published by Dalian and the Mémento Lefebvre du maire et de l’action locale (The Mayor’s handbook, published by Lefebvre).

For many years, the center progressively extended its scope of investigation to other areas of public law corresponding to the various competencies of its members, including some nationally- and internationally-renowned figures such as Philippe Terneyre (permanent member of the high commission of codification since 2008 (as is Jean Gourdou), member of the circle of experts for the general secretariat of the government in charge of work to draw up a code of relations between public entities and administrations by late 2015, and recognized specialists of economic public law) or Denys de Béchillon (who was a member of the task forces concerning the “Modernization and readjustment of fifth Republic institutions” under the chairmanship of Mr. Edouard Balladur and “The preamble of the Constitution” under the chairmanship of Mrs. Simone Veil). As part of the “College of lawyers”, the latter also contributed to the task force on the revision of the Mining Code, and in making this Code compliant with all the constitutional principles of the Environment Charter, the aim being to provide mining activities with the high level of legal certainty they require. Annie Fitte-Duval was appointed member of the “National committee for the remembrance of the history of slavery” in 2013.

Given this wide variety of skills, it seemed appropriate to change the name and structure of the center, which became Pau Droit Public, authorized by the Ministry for the period 2011-2015 after receiving an “A” grade during the last evaluation performed by the AERES (Evaluation agency for research and higher education).

Currently directed by Professor Jean Gourdou, the center is composed of:

  • Four professors.
  • One professor emeritus.
  • Nine associate professors.
  • Two adjunct associate professors.
  • 24 PhD students.
  • One project manager.
  • One administrative manager.
  • 21 associate members.

It is subdivided into five research programs corresponding to the main subjects studied by its members:

  • Energy law.
  • Local authority law.
  • Public contract law.
  • Health and social.
  • Procedures and public litigations.

Some events are organized by the center on a regular basis, such as the annual meetings between the Conseil d’Etat and law faculties introduced in 1997. They are attended by leading figures of the French Conseil d’Etat and professors of several French universities to examine the landmark cases of the previous year and freely discuss the solutions adopted. Likewise, since 2009, a study day on a theme of administrative litigation has been organized with the other public law center of Pau “IE2IA”. It is attended by researchers-lectures and magistrates of the administrative court on the occasion of the solemn reassembly of the administrative court of Pau.  Finally, each year at the end of June, a topical issue concerning public law is put to academics and law practitioners for discussion.

Alongside these regular study days, the center organizes symposiums concerning its various research programs.

In parallel, the evolution of the center reflects a desire to better organize the different activities of public law specialists in Pau and make them more consistent and readable. This concerns Master’s degree courses, the promotion of public law professions and support to the association of former students (A2P).

Pau Droit Public effectively supports the two specialties of the public law Master’s degree in Pau:

  • Law and public litigation, which includes two curricula:

- Law and litigation over public markets.
- Law and litigation over fundamental liberties.

  • Local, health, social and medico-social administrations, which includes:

- The local framework.
- The framework of the health, social and medico-social sector.

It is also important to note that the center works in partnership with a number of local institutions including the Maison des Communes (House of Communes), the CDG 64 (management center of the Pyrénées-Atlantiques department), the Centre National de la Fonction Publique Territoriale (national center for local public service), and many cooperation establishments and communes.

Within this framework, two university diplomas prepare students for local civil service exams:

  • Local officer (category A executives).
  • Local general administration professions (category B executives such as town hall secretaries).

There are also four university diplomas in the health and social sector:

  • “Social protection” in partnership with the EN3S (French national school for advanced social security studies) that prepare students for category A civil service exams in the health, social and medical-social sector:
  • Assistance and palliative care.
  • Evaluation and quality approach in health, medical-social and social establishments.
  • Assistance to people with autism.

In parallel, the laboratory takes an interest in political science, economy and management, making the most of the local multidisciplinary competencies specific to the structure of the UPPA. These partnerships are often fruitful when it comes to selecting the subjects of theses. While they focus essentially on legal issues, they nevertheless overlap with subjects addressed in other disciplines. This is the case for example of themes or sectors such as the governance of local assemblies, contractual relationships between public institutions, relationships between public and private corporate bodies, water, health, economic intervention, etc.

Présentation

  • Aide
  • Recherche
  • RSS
  • Google +
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
Pau Droit Public (PDP)

Contacts

Directeur

Jean GOURDOU

jean.gourdou@univ-pau.fr (jean.gourdou @ univ-pau.fr)

Tél : 05 59 40 80 53

Fax : 05 59 40 80 50

 

Responsable projets

Tél : 05 59 40 80 41

Fax : 05 59 40 80 50

 

Secrétariat - Gestion budgétaire - Communication

Tél : 05 59 40 80 42

Fax : 05 59 40 80 50

PDF
Vous êtes ici :

Pau Droit Public (PDP)Présentation

 

Le centre de recherche « Pau Droit Public » s’est substitué, le 1er janvier 2011,
au centre d’études des collectivités locales (CECL).

Ce dernier avait été constitué au début des années 1980 sous la double responsabilité des professeurs Franck Moderne et Jean-Claude Douence. Il se proposait à l’origine de suivre l’évolution du droit des collectivités territoriales et, de fait, n’a cessé de développer une expertise reconnue en ce domaine : classé dans les meilleurs laboratoires universitaires de recherche français en 2008, il s’était vu décerner à ce titre la médaille d'honneur de la ville de Pau.

Le centre mène ainsi des travaux collectifs autour de l’ancien « Annuaire des collectivités locales » devenu « Droit et gestion des collectivités territoriales » (Editions Le Moniteur) du Groupement de Recherches sur l’Administration Locale en Europe (GRALE-CNRS) dont il est membre depuis 1984 et des annotations pour les éditions successives depuis sa création du Code Général des Collectivités Territoriales (Dalloz, 18ème édition 2014). Il participe également à l’Encyclopédie Dalloz des collectivités locales (dont Jean-Claude Douence assure la direction scientifique) ainsi qu’au programme de recherche du GRALE – CNRS sur la mise en place de l’acte II de la décentralisation et aux transferts de compétences aux collectivités territoriales. Plusieurs chercheurs assurent par ailleurs la rédaction et l’actualisation de l’ouvrage « Guide des marchés publics » des Editions Dalian, et du "Mémento Lefebvre du maire et de l’action locale" (2011).

Depuis de nombreuses années, le centre avait progressivement élargi son champ d’investigation en direction d’autres domaines du droit public correspondant aux diverses compétences de ses membres, dont certaines personnalités de renom national et international tels Philippe Terneyre (membre permanent de la Commission supérieure de codification depuis 2008, membre (ainsi que Jean Gourdou)  du cercle des experts auprès du secrétariat général du gouvernement chargé de participer aux travaux d’élaboration d’un code des relations entre le public et les administrations à l’horizon de fin 2015 et spécialiste reconnu du droit public économique) ou Denys de Béchillon (qui a notamment été membre des comités de réflexion autour de « la modernisation et le rééquilibrage des institutions de la Vème République" sous la présidence de M. Edouard Balladur et sur « le préambule de la Constitution » sous la présidence de Mme Simone Veil). Ce dernier a également participé au sein du "collège des juristes" du comité de réflexion sur la refonte du code minier, à la mise en conformité dudit code avec l'ensemble des principes constitutionnels de la Charte de l'environnement dans la perspective d'assurer aux activités minières le haut niveau de sécurité juridique qu'elles requièrent. Mme Annie Fitte-Duval a quant à elle été nommée membre du "Comité national pour la mémoire de l'histoire de l'esclavage" en 2013.

Compte tenu de cette diversification, il a paru opportun de faire évoluer tout à la fois l’appellation et la structure du centre. Ce dernier est devenu « Pau Droit Public », habilité par le ministère pour la période 2011-2015 après avoir bénéficié d’une notation « A » lors de la dernière évaluation par l’Agence d’Évaluation de la Recherche et de l’Enseignement Supérieur (AERES).

Actuellement dirigé par le professeur Jean Gourdou, le centre se compose de :

  • 4 professeurs,
  • 1 professeur associé
  • 1 professeur émérite
  • 9 maîtres de conférences
  • 24 doctorants
  • 1 responsable projets
  • 1 gestionnaire administratif

Il se subdivise en cinq programmes de recherche qui correspondent aux principales thématiques étudiées par ses membres :

  • "Droit de l'énergie"
  • "Droit des collectivités territoriales"
  • "Droit public des affaires"
  • "Sanitaire et social"
  • "Contentieux publics"

 Certaines manifestations organisées par le centre présentent un caractère récurrent. Il en va ainsi des « Rencontres annuelles Conseil d’État – Facultés de droit » qui réunissent depuis 1997 à la fois des personnalités de premier plan de la Haute juridiction et des professeurs issus de plusieurs universités françaises pour examiner la jurisprudence marquante de l’année passée et discuter assez librement des solutions adoptées. De même, depuis 2009, en collaboration avec l’autre centre de droit public palois « l’IE2IA », une journée d’études autour d’un thème de contentieux administratif réunit à l’occasion de la rentrée solennelle du Tribunal administratif de Pau des enseignants-chercheurs et des magistrats administratifs. Enfin, chaque année à la fin juin, est abordée une question d’actualité du droit public à destination d’universitaires et de praticiens.

A côté de ces journées d’études habituelles, le centre organise des colloques concernant ses divers programmes de recherches.

L’évolution du centre correspond parallèlement à une volonté de mieux articuler les différentes activités des juristes publicistes palois et de leur assurer une plus grande cohérence et lisibilité, que ce soit en ce qui concerne les formations de Masters, la promotion des métiers du droit public ou le soutien à l’association des anciens étudiants (A2P).

Pau Droit Public sert en effet de support aux deux spécialités du master de droit public :

  • « Droit et contentieux publics » qui comporte les deux parcours :

- Droit et contentieux des marchés publics,
- Droit et contentieux des libertés.

  • « Administrations territoriale, sanitaire, sociale et médico-sociale » qui comporte les deux parcours :

- Cadre territorial,
- Cadre du secteur sanitaire, social et médico-social.

Il faut également souligner que le centre collabore avec diverses institutions locales, notamment la Maison des communes, le Centre de Gestion des Pyrénées-Atlantiques (CDG 64), le Centre National de la Fonction Publique Territoriale, ainsi que de nombreux établissements de coopération et de multiples collectivités.

Dans ce cadre, sont notamment organisés deux diplômes d’université préparant aux concours administratifs territoriaux :

  • Attaché territorial (cadres de catégorie A),
  • Métiers de l'administration générale territoriale (cadres de catégorie B, notamment : secrétaires de mairie),

et quatre diplômes universitaires du secteur "Sanitaire et social" :

  • "Protection sociale" en partenariat avec l'Ecole nationale supérieure de la sécurité sociale (EN3S) préparant aux concours de catégorie A de la fonction publique du secteur sanitaire, social et médico-social,
  • "Accompagnement et soins palliatifs",
  • "Evaluation et démarche qualité dans les établissements sanitaires, médico-sociaux et sociaux",
  • "Accompagnement des personnes avec l'autisme".

Mais le laboratoire s’intéresse parallèlement aux disciplines des sciences politiques, de l’économie et de la gestion, profitant à plein des proximités pluridisciplinaires propres à la structure de l’UPPA. Ces collaborations peuvent s’avérer fructueuses dans les orientations des thèses. Tout en restant fondamentalement juridiques, elles permettent de s’inscrire dans des démarches parallèles aux autres disciplines. Ainsi en est-il, par exemple, des thèmes ou secteurs comme ceux de la gouvernance des assemblées territoriales, des relations contractuelles entre institutions publiques, des relations entre personnes publiques et privées sociétaires, de l’eau, la santé, l’intervention économique, …